The election of governors and vice-governors of provinces indeed took place on Wednesday, April 10 in 22 provinces out of 26 of the Democratic Republic of Congo. Overall, the vote took place in a relatively calm climate, although one deplored the disturbances in Kananga in Kasai Central Province and Tshikapa in Kasai.

But in general, no incidents were recorded within the provincial assemblies in which the vote took place. After the consistency checking of results from 22 provinces namely Bas-Uele, Ecuateur, Haut Katanga, Haut Lomami, Hauts-Uele, Ituri, Kasai, Kasai Central, Kasai Oriental, Kinshasa, Kongo Central, Kwango, Kwilu, Lomami , Lualaba, Maniema, Mongala, Nord Ubangi, Sud Kivu, Tanganyika, Tshopo and Tshuapa were published by the central election on Wednesday, April 10, 2019 in the evening.

For the provinces of Haut-Lomami, Kasaï-Central, Nord-Ubangi and Tshopo, since no absolute majority was reached in the first, the Office of the Independent National Electoral Commission has summoned again the deputies of these four provinces in the second round of the election of Governors and Vice-Governors on Saturday, April 13, 2019 to decide between the two lists that came first in the first round.

These Governors and Vice-Governors, if confirmed by the Courts of Appeal, will be invested between April 26th and May 2nd. Meanwhile, the people of Sankuru, Sud-Ubangi, and Tshuapa provinces must wait before they know the names of their governors...